A Little Bit of Heaven
3226 Sullivan Lane, 502-223-8925 / A Little Bit of Heaven's mission is to give you and our horses the safest, possible environment to learn in . We are dedicated to raising our horses in the most natural and humane way so they will be able to realize their God given potential to be a companion unto man. We are Horsemanship Safety Association Instructors and we care about your safety. Click on the link above for more info.
Berry Hill Mansion
700 Louisville Road, 502-564-3000 / Berry Mansion is listed on the National Register for Historic Places. Built by distillery executive George Franklin Berry and his wife Mary in 1900, this Colonial Revival mansion sits on a bluff overlooking the New State Capitol and the Capital City. A Gothic Revival music room (added in 1912) features hand carved oak woodwork and houses an immense cathedral organ. Other features include stained glass windows and original decorative sconces featuring the Juniper tree. Hours: Mon. – Fri. 8:30am – 4pm.
Buffalo Trace Distillery
Start your Bourbon Trail adventure at the most award-winning distillery in the world – Buffalo Trace Distillery. We proudly hold the title of the oldest continually operating distillery in America, remaining operational even during Prohibition – for “medicinal” purposes. A trip to Buffalo Trace offers visitors a taste of history, heritage and of course, fine Kentucky Bourbon. While taking the tour you will experience a century-old aging warehouse, the hand-bottling of premium bourbons, a free sample of Buffalo Trace Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey and lots of southern hospitality—all on the house! Tours are offered six days a week year round. BTD offers three tours: The Trace Tour, The Hard Hat Tour (by reservation only), and the Post Prohibition Tour (by reservation only). Tours start on the hour. The first tour leaves the Gift Shop at 9am and the last tour at 3pm Mon.-Fri. On Sat. the first tour leaves at 10am and the last tour at 2pm. . Click the link above for more info.
7323 Peaks Mill Road, 502-227-4492 / Outdoor family friendly fun. Great for brand new paddlers, as well as seasoned paddling folk who want a new look at Frankfort's waterways.Take part in our Saturday and Sunday guided trips. Allow a guide to show you the wonders and beauty of Kentucky's River. Lock through the historic Lock and Dam #4. See Buffalo Trace, Daniel Boone's grave, and more... from the water. These are every Saturday and Sunday we are open, in the afternoon or evening, depending on the time of year. Friday - Sunday 9 -5 (May through October)
Capital City Museum
325 Ann Street, 502-696-0607 / Kentucky’s capital city is unique for its small-town charm and scenic location. Explore more than 200 years of politics, architecture, enterprise, misbehavior, and everyday life in Frankfort. Located across from the Thomas D. Clark Center for KY History by the depot the Capital City Museum is in the heart of Downtown Frankfort. The museum is handicap accessible and motor coach parking is available next to the museum. The museum is small and is designed to visit on your own. Hours: Mon.- Sat. 10am - 4pm
Chuck Bogart's Railroad History Walking Tours
325 Ann Street, 502-227-2436 /Chuck Bogart’s free historic walking tours leave from the old L&N Train Depot between the History Center and the Capital City Museum. This popular hour-long tour shares the history of Frankfort’s railroad days from its beginning to the present. Make your reservations at 502-227-2436. Parking is adjacent to the museum.
Clyde E. Buckley Wildlife Sanctuary and Audubon Center135 Germany Road, 859-873-5711 / Nestled among the rolling Bluegrass hills between Frankfort and Versailles, the Clyde E. Buckley Sanctuary is the only area managed by the Audubon Society in Kentucky. The Sanctuary encourages native flora and fauna and provides an active environmental education program. School or group programs are available, nature center and gift shop, hiking trails and bird blinds, teacher workshops and family events. Reservations are required for groups. Hours: trail and bird blind—Wed., Thu., & Fri., 9am- 5pm, Sat. & Sun., 9am - 6pm; nature center & gift shop—Sat. - Sun., 1pm - 6pm or by appointment. Grounds, buildings, and trails closed Mon., Tue, and holidays. Nature center bldg closed Jan - Mar. Cost: $4/Adult; $3/Child, 16 & under. Click on the link above for more info.
Cornerstone Art and Events Gallery
100 East Broadway St., 502-352-2400 / We are an art gallery located in historic downtown Frankfort. Our mission is dedicated to enriching the cultural landscape of Frankfort, through the exhibition of emerging and estabished artists. Cornerstone will focus on the richness an diversity of all art forms and make it accessible to the community. Art from paint to palette.
Daniel Boone Grave at Frankfort Cemetery
215 East Main Street, 502-227-2403 / Gravesite of Daniel and Rebecca Boone, which overlooks the city of Frankfort. Other honorable Kentuckians buried here are artist Paul Sawyier, Joel T. Hart, Theodore O’Hara and Vice President Richard M. Johnson, as well as 17 Kentucky governors. All buses must park at office. Please, no rubbings or tracings. Hours: Dawn to dusk.
Diecast Direct, Inc
3005 Old Lawrenceburg Road, 800-718-1866 / Diecast Direct, Inc. began in the early 1980’s out of love for diecast vehicles and model trains. Established in Frankfort, Diecast Direct is centrally located and offers quick and efficient service. Diecast Direct, Inc. specialize in cars, trucks, buses, military, construction, fire, police, and aviation replicas. Diecast also specialize in licensed items including: Lionel, Texaco, Coca-Cola, James Bond, etc.
Hours: Mon.- Fri. 9am-5pm, Second Sat. of each Month 9am-1pm. Click the link above for more info.
700 Capital Avenue, 502-564-3449 / The face of this colorful flowering clock is 34 ft across and is planted with thousands of plants. For good luck, toss a coin into the fountain. Hours are dawn - dusk.
Frank Lloyd Wright - Ziegler House
509 Shelby Street, 502-227-4496 / Frank Lloyd Wright, recognized as the greatest American architect, designed his only house built in Kentucky for the Rev. Jesse R. Zeigler. The 1910 “prairie style” house has a lighted stained glass case surrounding the fireplace at the ceiling, the only one designed by Wright during this prairie period. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Home is not open to personal tours.
Frankfort Convention Center
405 Mero Street, 502-564-5335 / Experience all the first-rate convention and entertainment facilities you expect with none of the big-city hassles. The Frankfort Convention Center is just a short drive to major population centers and airports in both cities and Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky. Frankfort is less than a day’s drive from Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis and Nashville. The 10,000 square-foot arena with over 5000 chair-backed seating is perfect for sporting events, conferences, trade shows and banquets. Hotel accommodations are on site. Frankfort Convention Center is located in the scenic downtown district of Kentucky’s state capital, within walking distance of quaint shops, restaurants and historic homes. Let the Frankfort Convention Center be your next event destination. Hours: Mon.- Fri. 8am - 4:30pm and weekends as needed. Click the above link for more info.
700 Capital Avenue, 502-564-3449 / Home of the Commonwealth’s Governor, and situated next to the Capitol, this Beaux Arts mansion was modeled after Marie Antoinette’s summer home, Petit Trianon and is listed on the National Register for Historic Places. Reservations needed for groups and school tours. Tour includes ballroom, reception room, formal salon and state dining room. Guided tours: Tue. & Thu. 9am and 10am.
308 Saint Clair Street, 502-226-4157 / The historic Grand Theatre, originally constructed as a vauderville house in 1911 in the heart of downtown Frankfort, was restored by a local nonprofit organization into a multi purpose performing and visual arts center in 2009. The Grand Theatre conducts live performances, streams live - broadcasts such as the Metropolitan Opera and classical music, and shows critically acclaimed and classic films throughout the entire calendar year. Ticket Office weekdays from 10am - 3pm at 502-352-7469
East Main Street / This cemetery offers a stone monument with the names of 142 African-American men from Franklin County who served in the U.S. Colored Regiments during the Civil War. It was erected in 1924 by what was believed to be a women's affiliate of an African-American post of the Grand Army of the Republic, a Union Army's veteran's organization. Hours are dawn to dusk.
Happy Jack Pumpkin U-Pick Farm
966 Hickman Hill Road, 502-320-1064 / Happy Jack's is a family owned and operated farm that offers acres of strawberries, peaches, vegetables, and of course pumpkins. The petting zoo and corn maze make Happy Jack's a great family fun outing. Call for hours.
Josephine Sculpture Park
3355 Lawrenceburg Road, 502-352-7082 / Josephine Sculpture Park offers more than 20 works of art outdoors in our beautiful rolling meadows just 2 miles from I64 in Frankfort. Sculptures on exhibition are hands on and are created by artists from across the globe. They span a wide array of concepts, materials, and sizes; there is something for everyone at JSP. The park also offers a visitor’s center, picnic tables, and amphitheatre and several miles of walking paths through our native meadows. The landscape changes with the seasons and new sculptures are acquired throughout the year, so every visit brings something new. Come out and be inspired at JSP. The park is free to the public. Hours are: Mon – Sun. dawn – dusk. Open year round. .
Kentucky Department for Libraries & Archives
300 Coffee Tree Road, 502-564-8300 / The archives research room maintains Kentucky's state and local government records available for reference use. Also available are genealogical, historical and legal references. Library hours are Mon. - Fri. 8am - 4:30pm; Archives hours are Mon. - Fri. 8am - 4pm. Click the above link for more info.
Kentucky Military History Museum
125 East Main Street, 502-564-1792 / Revisit the commonwealth’s military history in this fortress-like building that overlooks downtown Frankfort.Revisit the commonwealth’s military history in this fortress-like building that overlooks downtown Frankfort. Built in 1850, the State Arsenal is now home to the Kentucky Military History Museum and is jointly operated by the Kentucky Historical Society and the Kentucky Department for Military Affairs. Hours are seasonal and subject to change. All Kentucky Military History Museum tours begin at the Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History.
Kentucky River Boat Tours
Riverview Park, Wilkinson Blvd., 502-696-0607 / Free relaxing and informative trip on the scenic and historic Kentucky River aboard the Nancy Wilkinson. Tours on the Kentucky River run April 1st - Oct. 31st. Reservations are required. Tours are weather permitting
Kentucky State Capitol
700 Capital Avenue, 502-564-3449 / Completed in 1910, the Capitol building features 70 ionic columns, sculptures of Kentucky dignitaries and decorative murals. The Capitol is on the National Register for Historic Places and is noted as one of the most impressive capitols in the nation. Featured on the main floor are the First Lady Miniatures Collection, changing history and culture exhibits. Guided Tours: Mon.- Fri. 9am - 3pm on the hour (except 12pm – 1pm), Sat. 10am - 2pm (self-guided tours only). Click on the link above for more info.
Kentucky State Police Museum
633 Chamberlin Avenue, 502-875-7625 / The museum is dedicated to the rich tradition and proud past of the Kentucky State Police. Memorabilia, vehicles, photographs, and weapons are displayed documenting trooper history and accomplishments. Also included is an interactive display revealing various video clips, significant events and a memorial room, which humbly honors those men who have made the ultimate sacrifice while serving the citizens of the Commonwealth. Additionally, a state-of-the-art, 180-degree Driver Training Simulator, a FATSIV Interactive Firearm Training Simulator, and a 1,200 sq.ft. Safety Town is available as educational opportunities for civic organizations. Museum includes gift shop. Hours: Mon.-Thu. 8am - 4:30pm and Fri. 8am - 3pm. Click on the link above for more info.
Kentucky State University
400 East Main Street, 502-597-6000 / KSU was founded in 1886. Listed on the National Register are Hume and Jackson Halls, the latter with a public art gallery. Jackson Hall is home to the Center of Excellence for the Study of African Americans, which hosts several exhibits each year, including a quilt show in the fall. Blazer Library is open to the public, houses 310,000 volumes, which includes a special African American collection. Concerts, athletic events, art exhibits, public lectures and theater in season. KSU remains the smallest of Kentucky’s public universities with an enrollment of approximately 2,300 students and 130 full time instructional faculty members. Facilities are available for conferences and meetings
Click the link above for more info.
Kentucky Vietnam Veterans Memorial
Coffee Tree Road / One of the most unusual and original memorials in the country, it overlooks the city and contains the names of Kentuckians killed in Vietnam engraved in granite below the memorial Sundial, where on the anniversary of each soldier’s death, the point of the gnomon’s shadow actually touches the veteran’s name. Hours: Dawn to dusk.
Click the link above for more info.
Leslie Morris Park on Fort Hill
400 Clifton Avenue, 502-696-0607 / The park features two Civil War forts, the Sullivan House interpretive center, a picnic pavilion, a scenic downtown Frankfort overlook, and several hiking trails. The park is open to vehicular traffic year-round from 11am – 5pm. Free guided tours are available Mon. – Sat. from Memorial Day to October 31.
Liberty Hall Historic Site
218 Wilkinson Street, 502-227-2560 / LHHS features two historic homes built by Kentucky’s first senator, John Brown, and three acres of formal and informal gardens. Liberty Hall, a Georgian-style mansion, built in 1796 and the Orlando Brown House, a Greek Revival home built in 1835 for John’s son, are decorated with Brown family furnishings, family portraits, and Paul Sawyer watercolors. Regular programs present demonstrations of life in early Kentucky including hearthside cooking, music and crafts; activities for children; lectures and seminars; special exhibits; and special events including teas in the Orlando Brown parlor. Tours of Liberty Hall are offered throughout the day and leave from the Orlando Brown House; the gardens are open daily with free admission. Tour cost is $4.00 adults, $3 seniors 60+, and $1 children 4-18. Hours: March – Dec., Tue. - Sat. 10:00am – 4:30pm.
Click the link above for more info.
Old Governor's Mansion
420 High Street, 502-564-3449 / Home to 33 Kentucky governors from 1798 to 1914. Landmark mansion is listed on the national Register for Historic Places and notable for the seven U.S. Presidents who have visited there. No public tours.
Old State Capitol
Broadway and St. Clair Street, 502-564-1792 / Operated by the Kentucky Historical Society, this national landmark introduced Greek Revival architecture to the United States west of the Appalachian Mountains. Former home to Kentucky’s House and Senate, this building features a unique self-supporting staircase held together by pressure and precision. Site of the shooting of William Goebel, the only governor in American history to die in office from an assassin’s wounds. Tours: Guided tours are available. Reservations requested for large groups. Open the link for tour information. Combined with the Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History cost is: $4 for adults, $3 veterans, $2 youths (6-18), free to children 5 and under. $2 students, teachers and chaperones for groups of 10 or more. Cilck the link above for more info.
Paul Sawyier Public Library
319 Wapping Street, 502-352 -BOOK / The collection of over 116, 000 items includes books, magazines, newspapers, videos, books on tape, music CD's, computer CD-ROM's, equipment and art prints. Hours are Mon. - Thu. 9am - 8pm, Fri. 9am - 6pm, Sat. 9am - 5pm, and Sun. 1pm - 5pm. Click on the link above for more info.
Rebecca Ruth Candy & Tours
112 East Second Street, 502-223-7475/ Rebecca Gooch, started their business in 1919, one year before women received the right to vote in public elections. The Booe family continues to makes hundreds of varieties of rare confections with time honored traditional methods. Tours include the story of Ruth’s life and the history of Rebecca Ruth Candy, “Edna’s Table” a 12 foot curved marble slab named after an employee of 67 years. See new and antique equipment that is still used today. Guided tours include a candy sample. Stop by Rebecca Ruth for a tour and enjoy the sweet "taste" of Kentucky history! Store hours: Mon.- Sat. 10:00 am - 6:00pm (year round), Guided Tours: Mon.- Sat. 10:00am-12:00 pm and 1:00 pm - 6:00pm (except 4 days before Christmas, Valentines Day, Mothers Day and Easter) Tour Admission: $2 per person, children 5 and under are free. Click the link above for more info.
Salato Wildlife Education Center
#1 Sportsmans Lane, 502-564-7863 / From the lush, eastern mountains to rolling prairies... from lowland marshes to clear running streams... you'll experience Kentucky's diverse regional ecosystems and the wealth of fish, plants, and animals that make this their home. There's a lot to see and do! Inside, experience our Eastern Forest Diorama, get up close to live snakes and giant turtles, learn about restored species, and wonder at native fish in large aquariums. Outside, follow our paved, wheelchair accessible trails to see eagles, bison, bears, and more! Visit the Dragonfly Marsh, stroll among one of several native plant gardens and habitats, or take a day hike on one of our hiking trails. A picnic area, shelters, and two fully-stocked fishing lakes add even more opportunities for learning and family fun! Fishing and hunting licenses available during normal operating hours. Hours: Tue. - Fri. 9am to 5pm, Sat. 10am to 5pm. Closed Sunday, Monday, and state holidays. Will be closed for the winter from December 14th – February 14th. Click on the link above for more info.
Louisville Road and U.S. 60, Situated above the Kentucky River valley, the overlook gives visitors a spectacular view of the picturesque city of Frankfort and the State Capitol. Hours are dawn to dusk.
Switzer Covered Bridge
Route 1262 at Switzer / Built by George Hockensmith c.1855, 126 ft. long, 11 ft. wide, Howe truss design, each entrance has a sawtooth edge, rebuilt 1998, the bridge is on the National Historic Register. Closed to traffic. Hours: Dawn to dusk.
The Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History
100 West Broadway, 502-564-1792 / Experience the remarkable story of Kentucky and its history firsthand by taking a chronological walking trip through time. Enjoy a unique look into the state’s rich heritage that is both educational and entertaining. In addition, visit the Keeneland Changing Exhibit Gallery to experience Kentucky’s heritage through various subjects relating to Kentucky history. A variety of programs are offered including family-history workshops, museum theatre, kids programming and so on. The genealogy and research library offers an opportunity to research lives of Kentucky families and events. Visit the 1792 Store for a unique shopping experience showcasing only the best Kentucky-crafted items. Hours: Wed. 10am – 4pm, Thur. 10am – 8pm and Fri. – Sat. 10am - 4pm. Combined with the Kentucky Military History Museum and the Old State Capitol cost is: $4 for adults, $3 veteran, $2 youths (6-18), free to children 5 and under. $2 students, teachers and chaperones for groups of 10 or more. Clck the link above for more info.
Vest - Lindsey House
401 Wapping Street, 502-564-6980 / A Federal-style, 12-room house, built before 1820. Boyhood home of George Graham Vest. He served in the U.S. Senate for 25 years, was a member of the Confederate States of America Congress. Vest is best remembered for his “Tribute to a Dog” speech, Vest coined the immortal line “Dog is man’s best Friend.” Check the website for more information.
Visitor's Center / Gooch House
100 Capital Avenue, 502-875-8687 / Start your visit at this restored Queen Anne-styled house where the Frankfort Tourist Commission and the Frankfort Area Chamber of Commerce offices are located. We provide free brochures, maps and information on dining, lodging, and attractions. We can book group tours and provide you with itineraries. Hours are Mon. - Fri. 8am - 5pm. May - Sep. / Sat. 9:30am - 2:30pm. Click the link above for more info.